Lok Sabha Elections Phase 3: India Set to Vote in 116 Constituencies in 14 States, 2 UTs Today


New Delhi, Apr. 23: Third phase of voting in Lok Sabha elections in India would be held for 116 constituencies today. These seats fall in 14 states and two Union territories.

The states going to polls are Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Tripura and Daman & Diu.

Reports say this is the biggest phase of all with over 18.85 lakh voters deciding the fate of 1,640 candidates. Over two lakh polling booths have been placed for smooth conduct of polls.

In Assam, parliamentary constituencies of Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Barpeta and Guwahati go to polls. The main political parties in the state are BJP, Congress, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP).

Bihar will see five of its parliamentary constituencies go to polls on Tuesday. These are Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Araria, Madhepura and Khagaria which will see 82 candidates battle it out. The main political parties here are BJP, RJD, Congress, Lok Janshakti Party, Janata Dal, Janata Dal (United).

In Chhattisgarh, seven parliamentary constituencies will be going to polls; Raipur, Bilaspur, Durg, Janjgir-Champa, Raigarh, Korba and Sarguja. The Raipur, Bilaspur, Durg and Korba constituencies are for general category; Raigarh and Sarguja are reserved for the Scheduled Tribe while Janjgir-Champa is reserved for Schedule Caste.

In Goa, polling will be held in two parliamentary constituencies; North Goa and South Goa. Twelve candidates are in the fray. The main parties of Goa are UGDP, NCP, MGP, Congress, BJP.

Gujarat‘s 26 Lok Sabha constituencies go to polls on Tuesday. Its main political parties are Congress and BJP. The seats going to polls in Phase 3 are Kachchh, Banaskantha, Patan, Mahesana, Sabarkantha, Gandhinagar, Ahmedabad East, Ahmedabad West, Surendranagar, Rajkot, Porbandar, Jamnagar, Junagadh, Amreli, Bhavnagar, Anand, Kheda, Panchmahal, Dahod, Vadodara, Chhota Udaipur, Bharuch, Bardoli, Surat, Navsari and Valsad.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will exercise his franchise in Ahmedabad, a part of Gandhinagar parliamentary constituency from where BJP chief Amit Shah is the party candidate. Shah will cast his vote fro Naranpura area in Ahmedabad while Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, who represents the BJP from Gujarat in the Rajya Sabha, will cast his vote in the western part of Ahmedabad.

In J&K, Anantnag, Kulgam, Shopian and Pulwama of Anantnag parliamentary constituency would be going to polls. Main political parties in J&K are Congress, BJP, National Conference, People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

Karnataka will see the remaining 14 of 28 Parliamentary constituencies going to polls in the third phase. These seats are Chikkodi, Belgaum, Bagalkot, Bijapur, Gulbarga, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal, Haveri, Bellary, Dharwad, Uttara Kannada, Davanagere and Shimoga. Main political parties in Karnataka are BJP and Congress-Janata Dal (Secular).

Kerala will see all its 20 Parliamentary constituencies go to polls. In all, there are 227 candidates in the fray. The seats are Kasaragod, Kannur, Vadakara, Wayanad, Kozhikode, Malappuram, Ponnani, Palakkad, Alathur, Thrissur, Chalakudy, Ernakulam, Idukki, Kottayam, Alappuzha, Mavelikkara, Pathanamthitta, Kollam, Attingal and Thiruvananthapuram. The main political parties are  Congress, BJP, Communist Marxist Party, Indian Union Muslim League and Kerala People’s Party.


Fourteen seats go to polls in Maharashtra. These are: Jalgaon, Raver, Jalna, Aurangabad, Raigad, Pune, Baramati, Ahmadnagar, Madha, Sangli, Satara, Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg, Kolhapur and Hatkanangle. The main political parties here are Congress, BJP, Shiv Sena, Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatna, Nationalist Congress Party, AIMIM and Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh.

Odisha will see six of its seats go to polls. The seats which go to polls are Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri and Bhubaneswar. The main political parties in Odisha are Congress, BJP, BJD and CPI.

Uttar Pradesh is one state that will go to polls in all the seven phases. In Phase 3, ten of UP seats go to polls. The main political parties here are BJP, Congress, and SP-BSP-RJD. The ten constituencies going to polls in the third phase are Moradabad, Rampur, Sambhal, Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etah, Budaun, Aonla, Bareilly and Pilibhit.


West Bengal will see five of its seat go to polls. Main political parties here are TMC, BJP, Congress and CPIM. Balurghat, Maldaha Uttar, Maldaha Dakshin, Jangipur and Murshidabad will go to polls.

Both Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu will have their sole Lok Sabha seat go to polls. The main parties in Dadra & Nagar Haveli are Congress, BJP while in Daman & Diu, there are BSP and NCP candidates in the mix, apart from those of Congress and BJP.

Gujarat By-poll: By-elections will also be held Tuesday on four Assembly seats which fell vacant following the resignation of sitting Congress MLAs who later joined the ruling BJP. By-elections will be held on the assembly segments of Dhrangadhra, Manavadar, Unjha and Jamnagar (Rural), which fall under Lok Sabha constituencies of Surendranagar, Porbandar, Mehsana and Jamnagar, respectively. India.com

Related News

India, France ink €7.87 billion agreement for 36 Rafales

NEW DELHI, 23 Sept : India and France on Friday concluded an Inter-Governmental Agreement for the purchase of 36 Rafale fighter jets at a cost of €7.87 billion, the first fighter aircraft deal since the purchase of Sukhois from Russia in the late 90’s. The deal was signed by Defence…

Let's fight battle to build a better nation and see who wins: PM Modi to Pakistan

Mohua Chatterjee| TNN | Updated: Sep 24 : KOZHIKODE: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday broke his silence on the Uri terror attack and tore into Pakistan for its role in supporting terror in the region. At his first public rally since the Uri incident, PM Modi challenged Pakistan - not at conventional war - but in…

Terror as state policy is war crime, Shah tells Pakistan

KOZHIKODE,September 25 : The BJP on Sunday reinforced Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s message to Pakistan, with party president tabling a statement on the terrorist attack on Uri, positing it as one in a decade-and-a-half of terror strikes against India by Pakistan. BJP president Amit Shah described Pakistan as a country…

Pakistan not getting support in UN on surgical strikes issue: Akbaruddin

UNITED NATIONS, Oct. 1 : India has said that Pakistan approaching the United Nations on the issue of surgical strikes by the Indian Army across the LoC has not found any resonance in the world body and rejected claims that the UN mission monitoring ceasefire “has not directly observed” any firing…

Pakistan still in anaesthesia after surgery, says Parrikar

DEHRADUN/NEW DELHI, Oct, 2 : Pakistan is like a patient who has been given anaesthesia and doesn’t know that surgery has already been done on him, Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar said on Saturday. The Minister’s remarks are first comments from a member of the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) following the…

Baramulla: It was a terror attack, not a case of friendly fire, says Indian BSF

NEW DELHI, Oct. 4 : The Indian BSF denied reports of "friendly fire" resulting in casualties during the terror attack on the Baramulla camp even as speculation swirled about tense nerves leading to firing late on Sunday night. The border force said terrorists struck at a joint Army-BSF camp and this claimed the life of one…


Find Us on Facebook

From Social

Tokyo (Japan), Sept. 13: A new leadership assumed responsibilities at the Non Resident Nepalese Association (NRNA), Japan on Sunday. The new office bearers took oath of office and secrecy after a long fought battle resulting from dissatisfaction from those who…

Lama led officials assume responsibility in NRNA Japan