PM Deuba expands cabinet for second time, 19 ministers sworn in


Kathmandu, July 26: Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has expanded the Council of Ministers the second time today.
The newly appointed ministers are Yagya Bahadur Thapa (Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs), Sanjay Gautam (Irrigation), Ram Krishna Yadav (Agricultural Development), Rajendra Kumar KC (Youth and Sports), Bhimsendas Pradhan (Defence), Ambika Banset (Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation), Mohan Bahadur Basnet (Information and Communications), Bir Bahadur Balayar (Physical Infrastructure and Transport), Min Bahadur Bishwokarma (Commerce) and Mahendra Yadav(Water Supply and Sanitation) from the Nepali Congress.
Similarly, Girirajmani Pokharel ( Health), Tek Bahadur Basnet (General Administration), Shiva Kumar Mandal (Supplies), Mahendra Bahadur Shahi (Energy), Asha Koirala (Women, Children and Social Welfare) and Santa Kumar Tharu (Livestock Development) from the CPN (Maoist Centre), and Jitendra Dev (Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation) and Gopal Dahit (Land Reform and Management) from the Nepal Loktantrik Forum and Mithila Chaudhary (Population and Environment) from the CPN (United) are also inducted as ministers.
The Prime Minister has kept the portfolios of the Ministry of Industry, the Ministry of Forest, the Ministry of Science and the Ministry of Peace and Reconstruction to himself.
President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly-appointed ministers at a special ceremony held at the Office of the President at Shital Niwas today. Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba was present on the occasion.
Also present on the occasion were the Chief Justice Gopal Prajuli, Speaker Onsari Gharti, the three Deputy Prime Ministers, ministers, the chiefs of the constitutional bodies, chiefs of the security bodies, lawmakers and the government high officials.
Among the newly inducted ministers are 10 from the Nepali Congress, six from the CPN (Maoist Centre), two from the Nepal Loktantrik Forum and one from the CPN (United).
Nepali Congress president Deuba who was elected the Prime Minister by the Legislature-Parliament on June 6 had formed an eight-member Council of Ministers on June 7, the day of his swearing-in.
Nepal Loktantrik Forum chairman Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar had been included in the Council of Ministers as Deputy Prime Minister and the Minister for Federal Affairs and Local Development, Krishna Bahadur Mahara of the CPN (Maoist Centre) as the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Gopalman Shrestha of the Nepali Congress as the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Education, before this.
Similarly, Gyanendra Bahadfur Karki and Farmullah Mansoor of the Nepali Congress have been appointed the Finance Minister and the Minister for Labour and Employment respectively, Janardan Sharma and Prabhu Saha of the CPN (Maoist Centre) as the Minister for Home Affairs and the Minister for Urban Development respectively. RSSĀ 

Related News

PM Prachanda apprises House of his India visit

Kathmandu, Sept 14:Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal Prachanda has said that his state visit to the southern neighbour India, beginning from tomorrow would be focused on improving mutual trust and confidence with a very good intention.  Delivering his statement of public importance regarding his India visit at the Legislature-Parliament meeting…

PM Dahal lands in Delhi, Swaraj receives him

New Delhi,  September 15, 2016 : Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal, who embarked on a four-day state visit to India, landed at the Indira Gandhi International Airport in New Delhi on Thursday. Indian External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj received the Nepali Prime Minister at the Airport. Leading a delegation, PM…

Nepal, India PMs stress Constitution implementation in Nepal

KATHMANDU, 16 Sept. : Prime Ministers of Nepal and India, Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Narendra Modi respectively, on Friday stressed new Constitution implementation in Nepal as they addressed a joint press conference in New Delhi. Reiterating that the countries share historical relationships in various aspects, the PMs also stressed that the…

India visit very successful : PM Dahal

New Delhi, Sept. 18: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ has assessed his state visit to India as being very successful. “Before I embarked on this visit, I felt it had both challenges and opportunities, but now I am confident I have turned the challenges into opportunities,” Prime Minister Prachanda…

Constitution Day being marked as national festival today

Kathmandu, Sept 19: One year has passed since the promulgation of the constitution of a Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal. The country marks the first anniversary of the constitution’s promulgation through the Constituent Assembly today, meeting people’s aspirations for long. The government is marking this special day as a national…

Government working to make constitution acceptable to all, address voices of Madheshi, Tharus: PM Prachanda

Kathmandu, Sept 19: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal Prachanda has said the government was serious toward addressing the grudges of the Madeshi, Tharu and ethnic communities over the constitution through its amendment.  Addressing a special ceremony organised today at the Army Pavilion, Tundikhel on the occasion of the Constitution Day,…


Find Us on Facebook

From Social

Tokyo (Japan), Sept. 13: A new leadership assumed responsibilities at the Non Resident Nepalese Association (NRNA), Japan on Sunday. The new office bearers took oath of office and secrecy after a long fought battle resulting from dissatisfaction from those who…

Lama led officials assume responsibility in NRNA Japan